Contains three Seif. דין חלב שחלבו עובד כוכבים ואין ישראל רואהו, וגבינה וחמאה
ובו שלושה סעיפים:
Paragraph 1: Milk that was milked by non-Jews and no Jew saw them do so, it is forbidden as perhaps non-kosher milk was mixed in. If it was milked in his house and a Jew was sitting outside, if it is known that there is no non-kosher animal in his herd, it is permitted, even if no Jew is able to see him at the time that he milks the animal. If he has a non-kosher animal in his herd, and the Jew sits outside, and the non-Jew is milking only for the sake of the Jew, even if the Jew is unable to see him when he is sitting, if he is able to see him when he stands, this is permitted, because the non-Jew fears that perhaps he will stand and be seen, and he knows that non-kosher milk is forbidden the to Jew. Rema: Initially, it is necessary for the Jew to be there are the beginning of the milking and check to make sure that the bucket is empty and does not contain non-kosher milk. In any case, after the fact there is no need to be concerned for this. And regarding maidservants that milk domestic animals in the Jew's house or in his neighborhood are not, they are not suspected of milking non-kosher animals. But if a non-Jew takes a break, the Jew needs to be there, because it is like the case of the non-Jew's house. And even a Jewish child will suffice, because the non-Jew appears before him. In any case, if a Jew is not present until after he has finished milking, this milk is considered the milk of non-Jews that is forbidden, even thought no non-kosher animal exists in his herd. Milk of a non-Jew makes vessels non-kosher when they are cooked in them, just as any prohibited food, even though this is only an uncertainty whether he has mixed in something non-kosher. And so too with non-Jewish cheese, but not non-Jewish butter, even in a place where it is considered prohibited it does not prohibit vessels when cooked, and it is not a problem if it becomes mixed; if it is mixed in that which is permitted, everything is permitted, like above regarding the bread of non-Jews. See above in chapter 112. Milk of non-Jews that is forbidden, it will not work to make it into cheese or butter afterwards, rather it remains forbidden, and everything that is made from it is forbidden. Paragraph 2: Cheese made by non Jews was forbidden because that they are produced with the dried stomach of an animal that was not correctly slaughtered. And even when the cheese is produced using vegetarian rennet it is forbidden. Rema: And thus is the custom, and it must not be changed, unless you are in a place that has permitted this since earlier times. And if a Jew oversees the production of the cheese and the milking, it is permitted. And thus is the custom that spread in all of our countries. And if a Jew oversaw the making of the cheese, but not the milking, it is permitted after the fact, because there is no concern that perhaps something non-kosher was mixed in after the cheese was made from the milk, because non-kosher milk will not allow the cheese to form, and of course the non-Jew did not mix anything in once he knew it was for making cheese. And in any case, it is forbidden to eat such milk. Paragraph 3: Butter of non-Jews, there is no question that such a thing is permitted. And if the majority of a place treat it as forbidden, this cannot be changed. And in a place that has no particular custom, if the butter is cooked until the milk solids come out, this is permitted. Rema: Also it is permitted to cook it in this fashion initially in order to get the milk solids. And if a non-Jew cooked it, it is permitted, because most vessels have used in the past 24 hours. And if one goes from a place where this is not eaten, to a place where they do eat it, he should eat it with them, but it is forbidden to bring it with him and eat it in a place where they are accustomed to forbidding it. If the butter is not recognizable as being from such a place, it is permitted. And one who goes from a place where this is forbidden, to a place where it is permitted, it is forbidden to eat it there. And there are those that say that the law is the same if he brought it from a permissive place to a prohibitive place, that this is also forbidden, even if it is recognizable, and such is the custom. |
חלב שחלבו עובד כוכבים ואין ישראל רואהו -- אסור שמא עירב בו חלב טמא. היה חולב בביתו וישראל יושב מבחוץ, אם ידוע שאין לו דבר טמא בעדרו -- מותר, אפילו אין הישראל יכול לראותו בשעה שהוא חולב. היה לו דבר טמא בעדרו וישראל יושב מבחוץ והעובד כוכבים חולב לצורך ישראל אפילו אינו יכול לראותו כשהוא יושב אם יכול לראותו כשהוא עומד מותר, שירא שמא יעמוד ויראהו; והוא שיודע שחלב טמא אסור לישראל.
גבינות העובדי כוכבים אסרום מפני שמעמידים אותם בעור קיבת שחיטתם שהיא נבלה ואפילו העמידוהו בעשבים אסורה:
החמאה של עובדי כוכבים -- אין מוחין לאנשי המקום שנוהגין בו היתר. ואם רוב בני המקום נוהגים איסור -- אין לשנות. ובמקום שאין מנהג, אם בשלה עד שהלכו צחצוחי החלב, מותרת:
|